top of page

Smoke Detectors

Smoke detectors are available from Georgetown County Fire/EMS.  Free smoke detectors are available to low income, handicapped and elderly individuals.  The Fire Department Personnel will install the smoke detector upon request if no one else is available to install it.  Individuals must complete and sign a short form stating they meet the requirements.  The form can be picked up from any Fire/EMS station in the county. 


As of July 1, 2018 the Insurance Services Organization (ISO) rating for the Georgetown County Fire/EMS changed to a class 4/4.  This change effected properties depending upon the type of building construction, the hazards of occupancy and other factors.  Insurance policyholders should contact their insurance agent or company to determine the effect this change in classification might have on their homeowner policies. 

The Class 4 applies to properties in the district within 1,000 feet of a public fire hydrant or recognized water supply suction point, within five (5) road miles or less of a responding fire station and within the needed fire flow of 3500 gallons per minute (G.P.M) or less.  The Class 9 applies to properties within five (5) road miles of the responding fire station but beyond 1,000 feet of the fire hydrant or suction point.  The Class 10 applies to properties beyond five (5) road miles of the fire station.  Evaluated individually, the private and public protections may vary from the district classification. 

Guide to Outdoor Burning

Also please note that in Georgetown County , citizens desiring to burn yard debris will need to call Forestry at 1-800-986-5256 then call central dispatch at 843-527-6763 to notify them you are burning with your specific location of the burn.

Repairing your flooded home

bottom of page